Seven hills of Moscow

The Seven hills of Moscow is a historic name of several elevated sections of terrain, on top of which Moscow was built

Seven hills of Moscow
pinterest button

The legend of Seven Hills (as an analogy between Moscow and Rome) has been known since the 16th century, when they began to actively develop the hilly terrain dissected by numerous rivers and ravines.

Usually, the term Seven Hills refers to:

  1. the Borovitsky Hill (a.k.a. Kremlin Hill),
  2. the so-called Three Mountains (the districts of Presnya and Vagankovo),
  3. Tver Hill a.k.a. Strastnaya Gorka (today’s Pushkin Square),
  4. Sretensky Hill a.k.a. Sukharevsky Hill (today’s Sukharevskaya Square),
  5. Tagansky Hill a.k.a. Shvivaya Gorka (over the Yauza River),
  6. Vvedenskiye Mountains a.k.a. Lefortovo Hill (in Lefortovo), and
  7. Vorobyovy Hills.
Seven hills of Moscow
pinterest button Seven hills of Moscow Николай Аввакумов, CC0 1.0

Besides the aforementioned hills, they sometimes include:

  • Krutitsy, Krasniy Hill (over the Yauza River), and
  • Naprudniy Hill a.k.a. Sushchyovo (between the rivers Neglinnaya and Naprudnaya).