Central Okrug

Central Administrative Okrug is one of the twelve administrative okrugs of Moscow

Central Administrative Okrug in Moscow (2011)
pinterest button

Population:742,689 (2010 Census).

It was established in 1991.

The okrug, governed by the prefecture, encompasses ten districts:

  • Arbat
  • Basmanny
  • Khamovniki
  • Krasnoselsky
  • Meshchansky
  • Presnensky
  • Tagansky
  • Tverskoy
  • Yakimanka
  • Zamoskvorechye

Additionally, the territory of Kitai-gorod is not a part of any district and is governed by the administrative okrug directly.

Coat of arms

Coat of arms of Central Administrative Okrug

The Kremlin Hill, from which the colonization of Moscow began, is depicted under Yury Dolgoruky. The purple background symbolizes the supreme power of Russia, concentrated in Central Administrative Okrug. The gold unicorn was a traditional symbol of the Russian Tsars. Below him an ancient Kremlin white-stone wall is featured.

Government and infrastructure

This section requires expansion. (August 2011)

The Interstate Aviation Committee (IAC or MAK), the aviation accident technical investigation body of the Commonwealth of Independent States, has its head office in the Yakimanka District in the okrug. The Federal Penitentiary Service has its head office in Yakimanka District.

The Ministry of Education and Science has its head office in the Tsverkoy District.


Aeroflot has its head office in the Arbat District in the okrug.[6] United Aircraft Corporation has its head office in the Krasnoselsky District in the okrug. Tupolev has its head office in the Basmanny District in the okrug.

The All Nippon Airways Moscow sales office is located in the Presnensky District in the okrug. Korean Air operates its CIS office in the Tverskoy District in the okrug.


The Lycée Français Alexandre Dumas de Moscou, a French international school, is located in the Krasnoselsky District in the okrug.

Founded: 10 July 1991

Population: 742,7 mln (2010)

Postal Code: 101000—135999

Phone Code: +7 495, 496, 498, 499

Time: UTC+4

Useful Information

Central Administrative Okrug, or Tsentralny Administrativny Okrug Russian: Центра́льный администрати́вный о́круг, Tsentralny administrativny okrug)